Avacyn Restored!

Over on the Wizards site, they’ve finally released the whole spoiler for Avacyn Restored. Naturally I couldn’t help but look through it. When I got to the red cards, my inner Johnny started rubbing his hands together. These cards have got me very excited!

So excited I’ve already worked up a new deck list. I noted a pair of combos that I can’t wait to try out.

Land 23
8x Plains
11x Mountains
4x Clifftop Retreat

Creatures 8
4x Midnight Guard
4x Kessig Malcontents

Enchants 8
4x Dual Casting
4x Lightning Prowess

Spells 21
3x Battle Hymn
4x Gather the Townsfolk
4x Increasing Vengeance
3x Thatcher Revolt
3x Thunderous Wrath
2x Increasing Devotion
2x Bonfire of the Damned

SB
3x Leap of Faith
4x Faith’s Shield

I’ve started on a sideboard, but those are only to protect the key to my combos, Midnight Guard. The deck can also do a bit of weenie attacking, and also quite a bit of burn as a backup plan. And even if my midnight guard is taken out early, my enchants can still go on the malcontents or a token.

The neat thing I realized after I made it is that this deck is only using cards within the Innistrad block. Then again, I’m not entirely sure I know how the block format works any more. I’ve never seen a big set be done in the spring. It was only two weeks ago I found out that Mana Burn was removed from the game.

I am wondering if this deck has enough creatures in it. I did take a stab at making this deck with a more robust Token Plan B, but I don’t quite like how that looks. But either way I’m really looking forward to these new cards, and the prerelease this Saturday!

Leave a comment